Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

Available items only
Book Cover
Author Vonnegut, Kurt, author.

Title Novels, 1976-1985 / Kurt Vonnegut ; Sidney Offit, editor.

Publication Info. New York : The Library of America [2014]


Location Call No. Status
 GDL Central Library Fiction    VONNEGUT,KUR    Available
 PAS Central Library Fiction    FIC VONNEGUT,K    DUE 07-01-20
 PAS Hill Avenue Branch Fiction    FIC VONNEGUT,K    Available
 PAS Linda Vista Branch Fiction    FIC VONNEGUT,K    Available
Description 878 pages ; 21 cm
text rdacontent
unmediated rdamedia
volume rdacarrier
Series Library of America ; 252
Library of America ; 252.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Contents Slapstick -- Jailbird -- Deadeye Dick -- Galápagos.
Summary Slapstick (1976) takes the form of the post-apocalyptic memoirs of Wilbur Daffodil-11 Swain, architect of a brilliant scheme to rid mankind of loneliness. Jailbird (1979) is a political fable of our time, the biography of a good man who becomes embroiled in several of the worst political scandals of the American Century. Deadeye Dick (1982) depicts a talentless playwright's struggle to atone for the crimes of his youth, and the sins of his country. Galápagos (1985), a favorite of the author's among his books, tells the story of how and why a million years ago, during the global ecological disaster of 1986, humankind embarked on an unlikely evolution. The volume is rounded out with an assortment of Vonnegut rarities: speeches, essays, and commentary from the period that touch upon the themes, incidents, and particulars of the novels.
Subject Vonnegut, Kurt -- Literary collections.
Added Author Offit, Sidney, editor.
Vonnegut, Kurt. Slapstick.
Vonnegut, Kurt. Jailbird.
Vonnegut, Kurt. Deadeye Dick.
Vonnegut, Kurt. Galápagos.
Added Title Works. Selections. 2014
ISBN 9781598533040 (hardback)
1598533045 (hardback)

Available items only