Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

Available items only
Book Cover

Title Pyramids of glass : short fiction from modern Mexico / edited by David Bowen and Juan A. Ascencio ; with an introduction by Ilan Stavans.

Imprint San Antonio (Tex.) : Corona Publishing Company, 1994.


Location Call No. Status
 PAS Central Library Fiction, Short Stories    S PYR    Available
Description xxiii, 244 p. ; 22 cm.
Contents Introduction / Ilan Stavans -- The dice box / Emilio Carballido -- White lies / Ángeles Mastretta -- The mandarian / Carlos Fuentes -- Mariquita and me / Guadalupe Duenas -- Rear-view mirror / Juan Villoro -- Big tears / Rafael Perez Gay -- "Jesus, may my joy be everlasting" / Severino Salazar -- An orange is an orange / Silvia Molina -- Mourning / José Agustín -- The origin of miracles / Agustín Monsreal -- The panther / Sergio Pitol -- Little Mister Chair-man / David Martin del Campo -- Winter will never end / Marco Antonio Campos -- Pious Fraud / Jorge Ibargüengoitia -- One for the road / Jesús Gardea -- Eufemia and the curse of words / Enrique Serna -- Apaches in "La Granja" / Paco Ignacio Taibo II -- The trip / María Luisa Puga -- Puzzles / Inés Arredondo -- Castle in the eye of a needle / José Emilio Pacheco -- Little sister / Hernán Lara Zavala -- The truth / Eraclio Zepeda -- Mirror of a man / Marta Cerda -- Doctor's prescription / Luis Arturo Ramos -- Little house of Celluloid / Elena Poniatowska -- The great carpentry heist / Daniel Sada -- Permission granted / Edmundo Valadés.
Subject Mexican fiction
Genre/Form Short stories
Added Author Carballido, Emilio, Dice box
Mastretta, Angeles, 1949- White lies
Fuentes, Carlos, Mandarin.
Dueñas, Guadalupe, Mariquita and me
Villoro, Juan, 1956- Rear-view mirror.
Pérez Gay, Rafael, 1957- Big tears
Salazar, Severino, 1947- "Jesus, may my joy be everlasting.
Molina, Silvia, 1946- An orange is an orange
Agustín, José, Mourning
Monsreal, Agustín, 1941- Origin of miracles.
Pitol, Sergio, 1933- Panther.
Martín del Campo, David, 1952- Little Mister Chair-man.
Campos, Marco Antonio, 1949- Winter will never end.
Ibargüengoitia, Jorge, 1928- Pious Fraud.
Gardea, Jesús, 1939- One for the road.
Serna, Enrique, 1959- Eufemia and the curse of words.
Taibo, Paco Ignacio, 1949- Apaches in "La Granja.
Puga, María Luisa, 1944- Trip
Arredondo, Inés, Puzzles.
Pacheco, José Emilio, Castle in the eye of a needle.
Lara Zavala, Hernán, Little sister.
Zepeda, Eraclio, Truth.
Cerda, Marta, Mirror of a man
Ramos, Luis Arturo, 1947- Doctor's prescription
Poniatowska, Elena, Little house of celluloid
Sada, Daniel, 1953- Great carpentry heist
Valadés, Edmundo, Permission granted
ISBN 0931722993 (cloth) : 22.95
0931722837 (pbk) : 12.95

Available items only