Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

     
Available items only
Book Cover
eBook/eMedia
Author Unger, Kimberly, author.

Title Nucleation [electronic resource] / Kimberly Unger.

Publication Info. [Place of publication not identified] : Tachyon Publications / Bookmasters, [2020]
©2020

Copies

Description 1 online resource (288 pages)
text txt rdacontent
computer c rdamedia
online resource cr rdacarrier
text file rdaft
EPUB
Access Access limited to subscribing institutions.
Summary ""Recommended for fans of Richard K. Morgan's Altered Carbon and Martha Wells' Murderbot series." - Booklist In this riveting debut science-fiction technothriller, a top-notch VR pilot encounters a disaster during the highest profile space-faring project of her career. Now she must unearth a critical truth: was her discovery due to a betrayal, a business rival, or a threat to humanity itself? We are live, we are live, we are live. . . Helen Vectorvich just botched first contact. And she did it in both virtual reality and outer space. Only the most elite Far Reaches deep-space pilots get to run waldos: robots controlled from thousands of lightyears away via neural integration and quantum entanglement. Helen and her navigator were heading the construction of a wormhole gate that would connect Earth to the stars . . . until a routine system check turned deadly. As nasty rumors swarm around her, and overeager junior pilots jockey to take her place, Helen makes a startling discovery: microscopic alien life is devouring their corporate equipment. Is the Scale just mindless, extra-terrestrial bacteria? Or is it working-and killing-with a purpose? While Helen struggles to get back into the pilot's chair, and to communicate with the Scale, someone-or something-is trying to sabotage the Far Reaches project once and for all. They'll have to get through Helen first."-- Provided by Freading.
Note Publisher metadata.
Subject Space mining -- Fiction.
Space robotics -- Fiction.
Virtual reality -- Fiction.
Genre/Form Science fiction.
Novels.
Electronic books.
ISBN 9781616963392 (epub)
9781616963385 (print)
Standard No. 9781616963392

 
    
Available items only