Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

     
Available items only
Book Cover
eBook/eMedia
Author Lightfoot, Freda, 1942- author.

Title Ruby McBride [electronic resource] / Freda Lightfoot.

Publication Info. [Place of publication not identified] : Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd, [2019]
©2019

Copies

Description 1 online resource (300 pages)
text txt rdacontent
computer c rdamedia
online resource cr rdacarrier
Access Access limited to subscribing institutions.
Summary Where there's a rulebook, there's a rebel ... Ruby McBride has always been on the wrong side of authority. The grand opening of the Manchester Ship Canal is set to be a day of unfettered festivity for Ruby and her younger sister and brother. Even Queen Victoria will be in attendance. But the glories of the ceremony fade into insignificance when their dying mother delivers them to the imposing oak doors of Ignatius House. Abandoned in the not-so-tender care of the nuns, the siblings are soon separated. So when the Board of Guardians force Ruby into a marriage that sends her to a new home upon the Salford waterways, she makes only one vow: to reunite her family whatever the cost. This is an enthralling story of romance and rebellion perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court. Praise for Ruby McBride ' An inspiring novel about accepting change and bravely facing the future' Bangor Chronicle ' Compelling and heart-wrenching ' Hull Daily Mail 'The kind of character-driven saga that delights the Catherine Cookson and Josephine Cox audience' Peterborough Evening Telegraph 'This book deals with gritty, real-life situations and shows how the heroine's strength of character triumphs through adversity' 5* Reader review.
Note Print version record.
Access Digital content provided by Freading Ebook Service.
Subject Brothers and sisters -- England -- Lancashire -- Fiction.
Orphans -- England -- Lancashire -- Fiction.
Genre/Form Electronic books.
Domestic fiction.
Added Author Freading (Firm)
ISBN 9781788636650 (epub)
Standard No. 9781788636650

 
    
Available items only