Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

Available items only
Book Cover
Author McGrath, Will, 1980- author.

Title Everything lost is found again : four seasons in Lesotho / By Will McGrath.

Publication Info. Ann Arbor, MI : Dzanc Books, 2018.


Location Call No. Status
 PAS Central Library Non-Fiction, 1st Floor    968.85032 MCG    Available
 PAS Linda Vista Branch Non-Fiction    968.85032 MCG    Available
1 copy being processed for PAS Central Library On Order.
1 copy being processed for PAS Linda Vista Branch On Order.
Edition First edition.
Description 220 pages ; 22 cm
text rdacontent
unmediated rdamedia
volume rdacarrier
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (pages 219-220).
Contents Spring: Kena ka Khotso -- Summer: We eat, we drink, we dance -- Autumn: growing up -- Winter: taking leave -- Epilogue.
Summary Funny and heartfelt, this amalgamation of memoir and essay collection tells the story of twenty months the author spent in Lesotho, the small, landlocked kingdom surrounded by South Africa. There he finds a spirit of joyful absurdity and resolve, surrounded by people who take strangers' hands as they walk down the road, people who-with sweetest face-drop the dirtiest jokes in the southern hemisphere. But Lesotho is also a place where shepherds exact Old Testament retribution, where wounded pride incites murder and families are devastated by the AIDS epidemic. Driven by a spirit of openhearted cultural exchange in the style of Bill Bryson's In a Sunburned Country and Alexandra Fuller's Cocktail Hour Under the Tree of Forgetfulness, Will McGrath's Everything Lost Is Found Again is a love-drunk ballad to Lesotho, infusing humor and heart into pop ethnography.
Subject McGrath, Will, 1980- -- Travel -- Lesotho.
Lesotho -- Description and travel.
Lesotho -- Social life and customs.
ISBN 9781945814624 (paperback) : $16.95
1945814624 (paperback) : $16.95

Available items only