Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

     
Available items only
Book Cover
eBook/eMedia
Author McKay, Shirley, author.

Title Friend & Foe [electronic resource] / Shirley McKay.

Publication Info. [Place of publication not identified] : Birlinn Limited, [2015]
©2015

Copies

Description 1 online resource (320 pages)
text txt rdacontent
computer c rdamedia
online resource cr rdacarrier
text file rdaft
EPUB
Series A Hew Cullan mystery
Hew Cullan mystery.
Access Access limited to subscribing institutions.
Summary From the author of the bestselling Hue & Cry . " Fans of C. J. Sansom and Shona MacLean will find much to admire in this gripping mystery" ( Historical Novel Society ). St Andrews, 1583. The young king, James VI, is confined at Falkland Palace, plotting his escape. Dissension rages between Kirk and Crown, the king and his "lord enterprisers," and between the separate factions of the church. In St Andrews Castle, a bishop in decline plays out his darkest fantasies while lawyer Hew Cullan and his friend, Giles, investigate the true source of his sickness, uncovering corruption at its heart. The death of a young soldier implicates Hew's sister and Giles's wife, Meg, and leads Hew to an astonishing discovery and towards his blackest hour, his fortunes inextricable from those of James himself. Real historical figures woven into this fantastical tale are James VI, the bastard son of James V, spymaster Sir Francis Walsingham, and Alison Pearson who was executed for witchcraft in 1588. Praise for the Hew Cullan Mysteries "Charms the reader." -- Scotland on Sunday "The authentic Scottish dialogue and gripping narrative make this a must for fans of Scottish history or mystery." -- Scottish Field "Wonderful stuff." -- Good Book Guide "Informative, suspense filled, downright entertaining." -- The Bookbag.
Note Publisher metadata.
Access Digital content provided by Freading Ebook Service.
Subject James I, King of England, 1566-1625 -- Fiction.
Walsingham, Francis, Sir, 1530?-1590 -- Fiction.
Cullen, Hew (Fictitious character) -- Fiction.
Genre/Form Detective and mystery stories.
Electronic books.
Historical fiction.
Added Author Freading (Firm)
ISBN 9780857901811 (epub)
Standard No. 9780857901811

 
    
Available items only