Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

     
Available items only
Book Cover
Book
Author Harding, Debora, author.

Title Dancing with the octopus : a memoir of a crime / Debora Harding.

Publication Info. New York, NY : Bloomsbury Publishing, 2020.

Copies

Location Call No. Status
 PAS Central Library Non-Fiction, 1st Floor  New Shelf  92 HARDING,D    Available
 PAS Hastings Branch Non-Fiction  New Shelf  92 HARDING,D    Available
1 copy being processed for PAS Hastings Branch On Order.
1 copy being processed for PAS Central Library On Order.
Description 372 pages : illustration ; 25 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Summary "For readers of Educated and The Glass Castle, a harrowing, redemptive and profoundly inspiring memoir of childhood trauma and its long reach into adulthood. One Omaha winter day in November 1978, when Debora Harding was just fourteen, she was abducted at knifepoint from a church parking lot. She was thrown into a van, assaulted, held for ransom, and then left to die as an ice storm descended over the city. Debora survived. She identified her attacker to the police and then returned to her teenage life in a dysfunctional home where she was expected to simply move on. Denial became the family coping strategy offered by her fun-loving, conflicted father and her cruelly resentful mother. It wasn't until decades later - when beset by the symptoms of PTSD- that Debora undertook a radical project: she met her childhood attacker face-to-face in prison and began to reconsider and reimagine his complex story. This was a quest for the truth that would threaten the lie at the heart of her family and with it the sacred bond that once saved her. Dexterously shifting between the past and present, Debora Harding untangles the incident of her kidnapping and escape from unexpected angles, offering a vivid, intimate portrait of one family's disintegration in the 1970s Midwest, a rusted landscape where the loss of white male power can flare into unspeakable violence. Written with dark humor and the pacing of a thriller, Dancing with the Octopus is a literary tour de force and a groundbreaking narrative of reckoning, recovery, and the inexhaustible strength it takes to survive"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject Harding, Debora.
Kidnapping victims -- Nebraska -- Biography.
Abduction -- Nebraska.
Genre/Form Autobiographies.
Other Form: Online version: Harding, Debora. Dancing with the octopus New York, NY : Bloomsbury Publishing, 2020. 9781635576139 (DLC) 2020005049
ISBN 9781635576122 (hardback)
1635576121 (hardcover)
9781635576139 (ebook)

 
    
Available items only