Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

Available items only
Book Cover
Author Shadle, Douglas W., author.

Title Antonín Dvořák's New World symphony / Douglas W. Shadle.

Publication Info. New York : Oxford University Press, [2021]


Location Call No. Status
 GDL Brand Library Non-Fiction    784.2184 Dvorak,A SHA    Available
1 copy being processed for GDL Brand Library Non-Fiction.
Description xix, 182 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm.
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Series Oxford keynotes
Oxford keynotes.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index.
Contents Prologue : The big problem -- The welcome arrival -- The symphonic premiere -- The aesthetic conflict -- The national question -- The brewing storm -- The fiery debate -- The racial challenge -- The spiritual aftermath -- Epilogue : The great beyond -- Appendix : The musical tornado.
Summary "Antonín Dvořák's New World Symphony exposed the deep wounds of American racism at the dawn of the Jim Crow era while serving as a flashpoint in broader debates about the national ideals of freedom and equality. Following several strands of musical thought during the second half of the nineteenth century, this richly textured account of the symphony's 1893 premiere shows that even the classical concert hall could not remain insulated from the country's fraught racial politics. Philanthropist and entrepreneur Jeannette Thurber (1850-1946) founded the National Conservatory of Music in 1885 to provide a world-class but low-cost professional music education to students from across the United States. Though it progressed with fits and starts, the conservatory eventually earned a congressional charter in 1891, giving it a unique stature compared to national rivals. A year later, Thurber hired Antonín Dvořák, the famous Bohemian composer, to be its executive musical director-easily the highest-profile individual to hold the position"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject National Conservatory of Music of America (U.S.)
Dvořák, Antonín, 1841-1904. Symphonies, no. 9, op. 95, E minor.
Dvořák, Antonín, 1841-1904 -- Criticism and interpretation.
Music and race -- United States -- History -- 19th century.
Music -- United States -- African American influences -- History and criticism.
African Americans -- Music -- History and criticism.
ISBN 9780190645625 hardback
0190645628 hardback
9780190645632 paperback
0190645636 paperback

Available items only