Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

Available items only
Book Cover
Author Dusinberre, Edward, 1968- author.

Title Distant melodies : music in search of home / Edward Dusinberre.

Publication Info. Chicago : The University of Chicago Press, 2022.


Location Call No. Status
 GDL Brand Library Non-Fiction    780.92 Dusinberre,E DUS    Available
1 copy being processed for GDL Brand Library Non-Fiction.
Description ix, 233 pages : illustrations, music ; 23 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index.
Contents Members of the Takács Quartet -- Part one. Here and elsewhere -- Elgar's hills -- Elgar's retreat : what remains -- Freedom's soil : Dvořák at home and abroad -- Turning the page -- Part two. Bartók's Lontano -- Where Britten belongs? -- A chorus of birds.
Summary "A combination of memoir and music history, Distant Melodies: Music in Search of Home is a journey of exploration by a member of one of the world's leading string quartets into the related ideas of home, displacement, and retreat in the lives and chamber music of four composers: Antonín Dvořák, Edward Elgar, Béla Bartók and Benjamin Britten. Dvórâk, Bartók, and Britten's American experiences, and Elgar's Piano Quintet and the English landscapes that inspired it, provide the author with a means for exploring the ways in which a piece of music may affirm or alter one's sense of home. The life experiences and notions of development and recapitulation in the music of these composers are the subject of a book that grapples with the universal human predicament of how best to balance past, present, and future, to remember faithfully and yet to move forward. Distant Melodies explores the experience of living with a piece of music over time and the ways in which engaging more closely with these composers has changed the author's own perception of home."-- Provided by publisher.
Subject Dusinberre, Edward, 1968-
Violinists -- Biography.
Musicians -- Travel.
Takács Quartet.
Dvořák, Antonín, 1841-1904.
Elgar, Edward, 1857-1934.
Bartók, Béla, 1881-1945.
Britten, Benjamin, 1913-1976.
String quartet.
ISBN 9780226823430 hardcover
0226823431 hardcover

Available items only