Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

Available items only
Book Cover

Title Sounds magnificent [videorecording] : the story of the symphony / André Previn and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra ; a BBC-TV production in association with RM Arts ; written and directed by Herbert Chappell.

Imprint West Long Branch, NJ : Kultur, [2009]


Location Call No. Status
 GDL Brand Library DVD    ES PREV SS P24DVD    Available
Description 3 videodiscs (525 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.
Note Originally broadcast on television in 1984.
Contents Haydn and Mozart -- Symphony no. 87 / Haydn -- Symphony no. 39 / Mozart -- Berlioz -- Symphonie fantastique : op. 14 / Berlioz -- Beethoven -- Symphony no. 7 in A major, op. 92 / Beethoven -- Brahms -- Symphony no. 4 in E minor, op. 98 / Brahms -- Tchaikowsky -- Symphony no. 6 in B minor, op. 74 : "Pathétique" / Tchaikowsky -- Shostakovich -- Symphony no. 5 in D minor, op. 47 / Shostakovich.
Credits Producer, Herbert Chappell ; editor, Roger Harvey ; camera, Geoff Clark.
Performer André Previn, narrator and conductor; Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
Summary André Previn narrates this history of the beginning and development of the symphony, illustrating his observations with pictures and orchestral excerpts. Each program concludes with a performance of a complete symphony.
System Details DVD; region 1, full screen (4:3) presentation ; LPCM sound.
Subject Symphony.
Composers -- Biography.
Genre/Form Documentary television programs.
Biographical television programs.
Concert television programs.
Added Author Previn, André, 1929- Narrator. Conductor.
Chappell, Herbert. Screenwriter. Director.
Haydn, Joseph, 1732-1809. Symphonies, H. I, 87, A major.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791. Symphonies, K. 543, E♭ major.
Berlioz, Hector, 1803-1869. Symphonie fantastique.
Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827. Symphonies, no. 7, op. 92, A major.
Brahms, Johannes, 1833-1897. Symphonies, no. 4, op. 98, E minor.
Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilich, 1840-1893. Symphonies, no. 6, op. 74, B minor.
Shostakovich, Dmitriĭ Dmitrievich, 1906-1975. Symphonies, no. 5, op. 47, D minor.
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Performer.
British Broadcasting Corporation. Television Service. Production personnel.
RM Arts (Firm) Production personnel.
Kultur International Films.
Added Title Story of the symphony
ISBN 9780769790756
Standard No. 032031457294
Music No. D4572 Kultur

Available items only