Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

     
Available items only
Book Cover
Book
Author Black, Sue M.

Title All that remains : a renowned forensic scientist on death, mortality, and solving crimes / Sue Black.

Publication Info. New York : Arcade Publishing, 2019.
©2018

Copies

Location Call No. Status
 GDL Library Connection Non-Fiction    92 Black,S BLA    Available
 PAS Central Library Non-Fiction, 3rd Floor    363.25 BLA    Available
1 copy being processed for GDL Central Library Non-Fiction.
1 copy being processed for PAS Central Library On Order.
Edition First North American edition.
Description 353 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Note Includes index.
Contents Silent teachers -- Our cells and ourselves -- Death in the family -- Death up close and personal -- Ashes to ashes -- Dem bones -- Not forgotten -- Invenerunt corpus - body found! -- The body mutilated -- Kosovo -- When disaster strikes -- Fate, fear and phobias -- An ideal solution.
Summary Book of the Year, 2018 Saltire Literary Awards For fans of Caitlin Doughty, Mary Roach, and CSI shows, a renowned forensic scientist on death and mortality. Dame Sue Black is an internationally renowned forensic anthropologist and human anatomist. She has lived her life eye to eye with the Grim Reaper, and she writes vividly about it in this book, which is part primer on the basics of identifying human remains, part frank memoir of a woman whose first paying job as a schoolgirl was to apprentice in a butcher shop, and part no-nonsense but deeply humane introduction to the reality of death in our lives. It is a treat for CSI junkies, murder mystery and thriller readers, and anyone seeking a clear-eyed guide to a subject that touches us all. Cutting through hype, romanticism, and cliche, she recounts her first dissection; her own first acquaintance with a loved one's death; the mortal remains in her lab and at burial sites as well as scenes of violence, murder, and criminal dismemberment; and about investigating mass fatalities due to war, accident, or natural disaster, such as the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami. She uses key cases to reveal how forensic science has developed and what her work has taught her about human nature.
Subject Black, Sue M.
Forensic scientists -- Great Britain -- Biography.
Death.
Death -- Psychological aspects.
Forensic sciences -- Anecdotes.
Genre/Form Autobiographies.
ISBN 9781948924276 : $27.99
1948924277 : $27.99
9781948924290 (ebook)

 
    
Available items only