Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

     
Available items only
Book Cover
Book
Author Ryan, W. C. (William Charles), 1965- author.

Title A house of ghosts : a mystery / W.C. Ryan.

Publication Info. New York, NY : Arcade/CrimeWise, [2019]

Copies

Location Call No. Status
 GDL Central Library Fiction    M RYAN,W. C.    Available
1 copy being processed for GDL Central Library Fiction.
Edition First North American edition.
Description 372 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Note "An Arcade CrimeWise book."
Summary "Shortlisted for the Irish Book Award, a classic cozy big-house mystery haunted by the specters of World War One--for readers of Agatha Christie and Simone St. James. Winter 1917. As the First World War enters its most brutal phase, back home in England, everyone is seeking answers to the darkness that has seeped into their lives. At Blackwater Abbey, on an island off the Devon coast, armaments manufacturer Lord Highmount has arranged a spiritualist gathering to contact his two sons, both of whom died at the front. Among the guests, two have been secretly dispatched from the intelligence service: Kate Cartwright, a friend of the family who lost her beloved brother at the Somme and who, in the realm of the spiritual, has her own special gift; and the mysterious Captain Donovan, recently returned from Europe. Top secret plans for weapons developed by Lord Highmount's company have turned up in Berlin, and there is reason to believe enemy spies will be in attendance. As the guests arrive, it becomes clear that each has something they would rather keep hidden. Then, when a storm descends, they find themselves trapped on the island. Soon one of their number will die. For Blackwater Abbey is haunted in more ways than one. An unrelenting, gripping mystery, packed with twists and turns and a kindling of romance, A House of Ghosts is the perfect cold-weather read"-- Provided by publisher.
Genre/Form Mystery fiction.
Ghost stories.
Occult fiction.
ISBN 9781948924719 (hardback) : $25.99
1948924714 (hardback) : $25.99
9781948924726 (ebook)

 
    
Available items only