Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

     
Available items only
Book Cover
Book
Author nabhga, Vivka, author.

Title Ghachar ghochar / Vivek Shanbhag ; translated from the Kannada by Srinath Perur.

Publication Info. New York, New York : Penguin Books, 2017.

Copies

Location Call No. Status
 PAS Central Library Fiction    FIC SHANBHAG,V    Missing
 PAS Hill Avenue Branch Fiction    FIC SHANBHAG,V    Available
Edition Authorized edition.
Description 119 pages ; 19 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Summary For readers of Akhil Sharma, Mohsin Hamid, and Teju Cole, a haunting novel about an upwardly mobile family splintered by success in rapidly changing India. "It's true what they say--it's not we who control money, it's the money that controls us." In this masterful novel by the acclaimed Indian writer Vivek Shanbhag, a close-knit family is delivered from near-destitution to sudden wealth after the narrator's uncle founds a successful spice company. As the narrator--a sensitive young man who is never named--his sister, his parents, and his uncle move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house and begin to grow accustomed to their newfound wealth, the family dynamics begin to shift. Allegiances and desires realign; marriages are arranged and begin to falter; and conflict brews ominously in the background. Things begin to become "ghachar ghochar"--a nonsense phrase that, to the narrator, comes to mean something entangled beyond repair. Told in clean, urgent prose, and punctuated by moments of unexpected warmth and humor, Ghachar Ghochar is a quietly enthralling, deeply unsettling novel about the shifting meanings--and consequences--of financial gain in contemporary India"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject Families -- India -- Fiction.
India -- Social conditions -- Fiction.
Genre/Form Domestic fiction.
Psychological fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Psychological fiction.
Added Author Perur, Srinath, translator.
Added Title Ghcar ghcar. English
ISBN 9780143111689 (paperback)
014311168X (paperback)

 
    
Available items only