Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

Available items only
Book Cover
Author Graf, Max, author.

Title Music and Philosophy. Volume One [electronic resource] : Legend of a Musical City, Schoenberg and His School, and Shostakovich / Max Graf.

Publication Info. [Place of publication not identified] : Philosophical Library/Open Road, [2020]


Description 1 online resource (995 pages)
text txt rdacontent
computer c rdamedia
online resource cr rdacarrier
text file rdaft
Access Access limited to subscribing institutions.
Summary These three essential volumes on classical music theory and history explore the lives and contributions of some of music's greatest minds. In Legend of a Musical City: The Story of Vienna , renowned Austrian music critic Max Graf shares his recollections of life with Anton Bruckner, Gustav Mahler, Johannes Brahms, Richard Strauss, Arnold Schoenberg, and other immortals of the music world. Bringing to life several iconic composers as well as the city of Vienna itself, Graf recounts a charming, personal, and highly educational story of Austria's musical legacy. In Schoenberg and His School , noted composer, conductor, and music theorist René Leibowitz offers an authoritative analysis of Schoenberg's groundbreaking contributions to composition theory and Western polyphony. In addition to detailing his subject's major works, Leibowitz also explores Schoenberg's impact on the works of his two great disciples, Alban Berg and Anton Webern. In Shostakovich: The Man and His Work , Ivan Martynov presents a compelling and intimate biography of this pioneering legend. Martynov draws on extensive research, including interviews and conversations with Shostakovich himself, as well as his own expertise in the field of musicology.
Note Publisher metadata.
Genre/Form Electronic books.
Added Author Leibowitz, René.
Martynov, Ivan.
ISBN 9781504064521 (epub)
Standard No. 9781504064521

Available items only