Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

     
Available items only
Book Cover
Book
Author Greenway, H. D. S., 1935-

Title Foreign correspondent : a memoir / H.D.S. Greenway.

Publication Info. New York, NY : Simon & Schuster, 2014.

Copies

Location Call No. Status
 PAS Central Library Non-Fiction, 1st Floor    92 GREENWAY,H    In Transit
Edition First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition.
Description xiii, 304 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm
text rdacontent
unmediated rdamedia
volume rdacarrier
Note Includes index.
Contents A different world -- Going to work for Uncle Sam and Henry Luce -- Assignments in London and Washington -- Coming into Vietnam -- Away to war, home in Hong Kong -- My luck runs out -- The South Vietnamese hold the line -- The Americans depart -- A curious coda -- The Fall of Saigon -- Returning to Saigon -- Covering Southeast Asia -- On the Opium Trail -- Laos : "The end of nowhere" -- Cambodia : between the tiger and to crocodile -- Indonesian New Guinea : stoning the Stone Age men -- Australian New Guinea : missionaries, cannibals, & cargo cults -- Muhammad Ali's holy war -- Bangladesh : birth of a nation -- The first Washington Post Bureau in Israel since 2000 years -- Sadat comes to Jerusalem -- Coming home -- Oman : a colony in all but name -- Bad days in Beirut -- The Soviet empire crumbles -- Balkan tragedy -- Saddam Hussein goes to war -- Baghdad nights -- To the Khyber Pass.
Summary "David Greenway, a journalist's journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it's like to report a war up close"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject Greenway, H. D. S., 1935-
Journalists -- United States -- Biography.
ISBN 9781476761329 (hardback) : $26.00
1476761329 (hardback)

 
    
Available items only