Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

Available items only
Book Cover

Title Listen to Britain and other films [videorecording] / by Humphrey Jennings.

Imprint Chatsworth, CA : Image Entertainment, [2002].


Location Call No. Status
 GDL Central Library DVD    941.084 LIS    Damaged
Description 1 videodisc (182 mins.) : sd., b&w ; 4 3/4 in. + program notes ([8] p. : ill. ; 19 cm)
Note DVD release of seven early films.
"Humphrey Jennings," essay in included booklet, by Dean w. Duncan.
"Produced for DVD by David Shepard."
Contents London can take it (1940, 9 mins.) -- Words for battle (1941, 8 mins.) -- Listen to Britain (1942, 18 mins.) -- Fires were started (1943, 70 mins.) -- A diary for Timothy (1943, 39 mins.) -- Family portrait (1951, 26 mins.) -- Myra Hess, playing the first movement of Beethoven's Sonata in F Minor No. 57 (Apassionata) (1945, 9 mins.).
Summary A collection of seven films by one of the greatest figures in the celebrated British Documentary Film Movement. He is most remembered for the way his work reflects the concerns and conditions of World War II era in the United Kingdom. In these pictures, Jennings's impressive aesthetic arsenal helped to expand the scope and vocabulary of documentary films.
System Details DVD, region 1; Dolby Digital mono.
Subject Jennings, Humphrey.
Beethoven, Ludwig van, 1770-1827. Sonatas, piano.
Documentary films -- Great Britain.
Genre/Form Documentary films
Added Author Jennings, Humphrey.
Shepard, David.
Duncan, Dean W.
Hess, Myra, Dame, 1890-1965.
Great Britain. Empire Marketing Board.
Image Entertainment (Firm)
Blackhawk Films Collection (Library of Congress)
Added Title London can take it.
Words for battle.
Listen to Britain.
Fires were started.
Diary for Timothy.
Family portrait.
Myra Hess, playing the first movement of Beethoven's Sonata in F Minor No. 57 (Apassionata)
Standard No. 014381148824
Music No. ID1488DSDVD Image Entertainment

Available items only