Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

Book Cover

Title Saxophone colossus [videorecording] : featuring Sonny Rollins / a film by Robert Mugge.

Publication Info. Pottstown, PA : MVD Visual, [2017]


Location Call No. Status
 GDL Brand Library DVD    MJ ROLL SC R86DVD    Available
1 copy being processed for GDL Brand Library DVD.
Description 1 videodisc (101 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.
two-dimensional moving image tdi rdacontent
video v rdamedia
videodisc vd rdacarrier
System Details DVD, all regions; closed-captioned.
Note Title from container.
Reissue of the 1986 Mug-Shot Productions video.
Performer Sonny Rollins, tenor saxophone ; Clifton Anderson, trombone ; Mark Soskin, piano ; Bob Cranshaw, bass ; Marvin "Smitty" Smith, drums ; Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra (Heikki Sarmanto, conductor ; Kiyomitsu Obana, concertmaster).
Credits Directed by Robert Mugge.
Audience MPAA rating: Not rated.
Summary The film captures Sonny Rollins in some of his finest improvisational hours. The centerpiece of this video is the world premiere performance of concerto for tenor saxophone and orchestra, which was composed by Rollins and arranged and orchestrated by Heikki Sarmanto.
Note Special features: New 4K transfer of the 101-minute film, illustrated commentary by director Robert Mugge, digital audio of "G-man" and "Don't stop the carnival."
Contents G-man -- The bridge -- Tenor saxophone solo -- Concerto for tenor saxophone and orchestra (Mvts. 1, 3, 4, 5, 7) -- Don't stop the carnival.
Subject Jazz -- 1981-1990.
Saxophone music (Jazz)
Genre/Form Concert films.
Video recordings for the hearing impaired.
Added Author Rollins, Sonny.
Mugge, Robert, 1950-
Sarmanto, Heikki, 1939-
Smith, Marvin, 1961-
Cranshaw, Bob.
Soskin, Mark.
Anderson, Clifton.
Obana, Kiyomitsu.
Yomiuri Nihon Kōkyō Gakudan.
MVD Visual (Firm).
Mug-Shot Productions.
Standard No. 760137968696
Music No. MVD9686D MVD Visual

Available items only