Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

     
Available items only
Book Cover
Book
Author Schwartz, John Burnham, author.

Title The red daughter : a novel / John Burnham Schwartz.

Publication Info. New York : Random House, [2019]

Copies

Location Call No. Status
 GDL Central Library Fiction    SCHWARTZ,JOH    DUE 07-01-21
1 copy being processed for GDL Central Library Fiction.
Edition First edition.
Description 268 pages ; 25 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Summary "Running from her father's brutal legacy, Joseph Stalin's daughter defects to the United States against the turbulence of the 1960s. For fans of We Were the Lucky Ones and A Gentleman in Moscow, this sweeping historical novel is inspired by the true story of Svetlana Alliluyeva. In one of the most momentous events of the Cold War, Svetlana Allilyueva, the forty-one-year-old daughter of the notorious tyrannical leader of the USSR, abruptly abandoned her life in Moscow in 1967, arriving in New York to throngs of reporters and a nation hungry to hear her story. By her side is Peter Horvath, a lawyer in his mid-thirties who is sent by the CIA to escort Svetlana to America. Rootless, lonely, and bewildered by her adopted country's radically different society, Svetlana takes refuge in Arizona with the widow of architect Frank Lloyd Wright, makes a hasty marriage, and has a child. Floundering, she reaches out to Peter, her first connection in America and, it seems, the only person she can genuinely count on. When their relationship becomes more than just professional, it unfolds under the eyes of her CIA minders, and Svetlana and Peter's private lives are no longer their own. The author's father was in fact the young lawyer who escorted the real Svetlana to the United States. Based on his father's reminiscences as well as his own extensive research into Svetlana's life, John Burnham Schwartz recreates this dramatic story of a woman's search for a new life and a place to belong, in the evocative and imaginative prose that have made him a critically acclaimed, bestselling author of literary and historical fiction"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject Allilueva, Svetlana, 1926-2011 -- Fiction.
Children of heads of state -- Soviet Union -- Fiction.
Defectors -- United States -- Fiction.
Genre/Form Biographical fiction.
Historical fiction.
ISBN 9781400068463 (hardback) $26.00
1400068460 : $26.00
9781984853875 (ebook)

 
    
Available items only